You could be using Facebook for some time and then disabled it for some reason, maybe you need a break from Facebook to focus on other things, and then when you feel the need to go back to using Facebook, you might want to know how to enable a disabled Facebook account. Enabling a Facebook account you disabled yourself is very easy and can be done in the account settings of Facebook. However, in a case where your account was disabled by Facebook itself due to some issues, enabling your Facebook account could be different from enabling it when it was disabled by you but there are ways to go about it. This article will guide you on how to enable a disabled Facebook account and restore your account in its entirety including your contents, friends, and the settings of your account whether the account was disabled by you or disabled by Facebook.
Why Your Account is Disabled by Facebook
Facebook disables accounts that do not follow its terms and most of the reasons why Facebook may disable your account include:
- Posting content on your Facebook account that does not follow the Facebook rules and regulations;
- Impersonating someone;
- Using a fake Facebook name or a fake Facebook profile;
- Continued violation of Facebook terms and conditions even after several warnings from Facebook;
- Signing in to Facebook from an unknown location;
- Someone reporting your Facebook account;
- Joining a large number of groups on Facebook;
- Gaining access to your Facebook account illegally;
- Going against the Facebook community standards continuously;
- Contacting other people for harassment purposes, advertisement, promotion, or other conduct that is not allowed on Facebook.
How to Know When your Account Has Been Disabled
When your account gets disabled by Facebook, you get a message that says that your account has been disabled when you try to log in to Facebook. If you don’t get this message, you might have just been suspended from posting on Facebook for a while.
In some cases, you will not get a warning from Facebook before your account is disabled. If your account was disabled by Facebook for severe violations it means that your account has been disabled permanently and cannot be restored. When your account is temporarily disabled, it means that your account has just been taken down by Facebook for a short period of time, and to enable it, all you need to do is follow the instructions provided by Facebook.
How to Enable a Disabled Facebook Account that Has Been Disabled by you
If your account was disabled by you, you can reactivate it easily by following the steps below:
- Visit the Facebook sign-in page;
- Type in the phone number or email address associated with the Facebook account you disabled;
- Type in the password you use to log in to your Facebook account and if you no longer remember the password, you can reset it by clicking on forgot password?
- Click on login and if prompted, click on cancel deletion. Your account will now be open and you will be able to log in to your account anytime you want to.
How to Enable a Disabled Facebook Account that was Disabled by Facebook
In order to begin this process, it is important to be sure that your account was really disabled by Facebook; you can check this by trying to log in to your account. If you get a message that says that your account has been disabled then you know that your account has been disabled by Facebook. If you try to log in to your account and you were able to easily assess your account or you didn’t get the account disabled message, know that your account hasn’t been disabled, you might probably be having some log-in issues. Here are the steps to take if your account has been temporarily disabled by Facebook;
- Type in your email address or your phone number. Make sure that the number or email address you type in is the one that is associated with the account.
- Type in your Facebook account name in the space for your full name.
- Upload your identity card which could be your voter’s card, driver’s license, tax identification card, or passport. Note that if the details contained in the ID you provide don’t match with what is contained in your Facebook account; you might not be able to reactivate the account.
- In the field for additional information, located at the bottom of the page, you can type in additional information you think Facebook should know concerning your appeal. This additional information could be that your Facebook name is different from your legal name, you suspect that your account was hacked by someone or someone other than you was responsible for the illegal or abusive behaviors on your Facebook account and you have evidence to prove that.
- After typing in your additional information, you can go ahead and click send and your appeal will be sent to Facebook. If your account deactivation is revoked, Facebook will send you a message to that effect.
For any questions, comments, or suggestions, kindly make use of the comment section below. You can also visit our contact page to get in touch.